A visit from a four-legged friend

A very special visitor popped into Year 2 on Tuesday to introduce them to their new Literacy unit, Information texts.

Meet Lucifer the Great!

photo-22-11-2016-09-42-09

As part of the Information Text unit that Year 2 are starting, they will learn all about tortoises and produce their very own information leaflet to share with other classes in school.

Everyone absolutely loved having a real tortoise in class. He was carefully shown around and we even got to touch him! Miss Gangel followed closely behind with the hand sanitiser!

It has given Year 2 a real enthusiasm to get started with this learning. Following on from the Lucifer’s visit Year 2 contributed to the planning of the unit by completing a ‘I see, I think, I wonder’ task.

This task involved sharing ideas with a partner and recording notes using bullet points. ‘I see’ asks you to record what you saw when Lucifer visited. ‘I think’ is making those links to think about using what I saw, what do I think I know? ‘I wonder’ is then generating a question you would like to answer by the end of the unit.

Some great examples from today’s lesson:

I see: Lucifer’s head can go inside his shell.

I think: Tortoises are flexible because their heads can move in and out of their shell.

I wonder: Why do tortoises have a hard shell?

Why don’t you have a try thinking of a question you would like Year 2 to answer all about tortoises? Comment below and we’ll get back to you!

Check back in with Year 2 to see if you can learn any interesting facts about tortoises.

Leave a Reply

